gtag('config', 'AW-921500486');

Earmark from State Bolsters Student Programs

Published by Kassi Soulard on

Triangle, Inc. has been fortunate to have strong support from members of our State House delegation who have continually advocated for additional funding in the Commonwealth’s budget for our programming that focuses on students with disabilities.  Specifically, the $200,000 in earmark funding designated to Triangle will support our School to Career programs that include employment exploration seminar classes and training programs for youth to enter the environmental services profession. These projects include opportunities for students to practice their new skills as part of internships or on-the-job training in the community.

Triangle’s School to Career programs prepare students with disabilities for participation in the workforce during a crucial period in their lives as they transition into adulthood. As of July of 2022, only 22.6 percent of people with disabilities participated in the workforce compared to 68.2 percent of their non-disabled peers. Early intervention that includes vocational training programs prior to adulthood is a critical step in boosting disability inclusion in the workforce.

Triangle CEO Coleman Nee states: “Establishing an expectation of employment along with hands-on training and professional development services are crucial in building a more inclusive workforce across all sectors. This funding from the state allows Triangle to provide those opportunities to students throughout the Commonwealth.”

Triangle would like to thank the budget amendment co-sponsors. 

In the House, we thank Reps. Christine Barber, Daniel Cahill,  Mark Cusack, Michael Day, William Driscoll, Nika Elugardo, Sean Garballey, Denise Garlick, Jessica Ann Giannino, Tami Gouveia, Adrian Madaro, Edward Philips, Dan Ryan, Danillo Sena, and Paul Tucker. 

In the Senate, we thank Sens. Michael Brady, Nick Collins, Brendan Crighton, Sal DiDomenico, Joan Lovely, Michael Rush, and Walter Timilty.

Additional thanks to other delegation members who have been longtime advocates for our participants and staff members, including Reps. Paul Donato, Steve Ultrino, and Kate Lipper-Garabedian, as well as Sen. Jason Lewis.

Accessibility Toolbar